Love…..

This post is dedicated to one of my best friends who, in contradiction to all the expectations, is finally in the grip of what we call LOVE

Warning: The reader is hereby and with utmost precision warned that the following piece of verbiage has been drafted by the inexperienced hands of a quintessential insomniac who has never tasted or smelt love of any girl, living or dead, in his well confirmed twenty years of life. Don’t say you were not warned.

One of the many great discoveries of mankind is actually a realization. The realization that the inescapable answer to one of the most abstruse of questions is perhaps trying to seek the answer to that same query. We live because we love. We live because we are being loved. Love, gives a direction to our lives.

A writer loves his pen because it provides him the freedom to express himself, his ideas, and his soul. A hunter is in love with his gun as it helps him feed his family. A mother can’t live without her baby because it is a part of hers. Siblings like playing around themselves. A father gives his love to his children because they would spread his name far and wide. I like ogling at the wallpapers of Jessica Alba because it helps me comprehend the meaning of beauty. But why would someone fall off for a complete stranger? Why are we ready to shed all our possessions for the happiness of someone whom we did not know some seconds before? Why a being not so redundant in its nascent wake suddenly becomes the most important person in our life….an obsession. The answer, I know, is love and it has not occurred to me. Yet.

Once a lion lived with a large family of his own. He was a typical lion. Long shining brown whiskers with elaborate streaks of grey made his appearance fierce to other animals in the forest. He was a king. The master of his own destiny. But one fateful day something happened and it changed his life for eternity. It changed his life to such an extent that he was no more……

I play safe. It is not that I don’t fancy the company of the opposite sex. In fact I like it very much in accordance with what is expected from a normal man. And I also know that girls don’t find me unattractive. It is just I don’t like blabbering out very much. I have seen people getting overexcited while encountering the person of their interest but it seldom happens to me. I am a bit reserved and very frankly, I don’t like this particular attitude of mine. It gives me a sense of security at times but yet I feel very insecure when I see couples giggling their way to glory.

One hot summer day the lion went to the pond to quench his thirst. He had just had his lunch. His brown whiskers were carmine. His plans included a nice bath in the cool water. But just when he was about to launch himself in the pond, his eyes caught sight of something…. something which rendered him stupefied. Forever…… A woman was bathing. A human being. The dreaded monster. Yet she was beautiful. She did not wear animal’s skin. She was the hem of God’s creation. Glorified to the zenith. A coruscant suave pale skin. A face that made him dumb….inebriated. He retreated back into the bushes. He was never the same again……

I am a social animal and I have a heart. I suffer from occasional ebullitions of infatuation. Many a times it has occurred. And many a times I have tried to suppress it. Many nights have gone by just thinking about the same thing. Many days have been spent trying to impress someone unsuccessfully. It happens. You ‘waste’ many hours of your life devising ingenuous plans to instigate fortuitous meetings with the ones you ‘love’ and eventually see them being swayed away by one of your so called ‘best’ friends. You then keep quiet and try to compromise. But the thing does not go off your mind so easily. It stays there for some time….tormenting you…..coercing you to desist your ‘best’ friend. Eventually it fades away. Relinquishing some of the ‘love’ly pain. But sooner or later more beautiful musings of someone more beautiful infest your ever musing brain……

Legend has it that the lion was killed when he was about to abduct the only baby of the most graceful woman of the village. It was a hot topic, among the rustic humans, for many days. They could never devise a satisfactory theory behind the lion’s reluctance to defend himself and his imbecility to try attack a house so deep into the village. Never. Never could they suggest that the lion was in love and he was there just to look at her, to try and comprehend what was so special about this human form which had converted him into a phantom, someone so weak, emotionally, that he was unable to fight off his inane urge……. Love is brutal…..

Love happens only once. True love. I can’t say how it feels. I have never fallen in love. Yet. But I would like to…..once…….

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Love…..

  1. Tanay says:

    sahi likha hai bhai…u mixed the present and the story well…it's v. nice…

  2. Karthik says:

    Nice one! Narration is very good. Keep writing!

  3. R S says:

    @Tanay and Karthik
    aur mujhe laga ki sirf ek bande ne ise padha tha……

  4. W!((!@M says:

    really nice narration!! .. i liked this post very much!

  5. R S says:

    @William(am I correct??)
    a big thaaaankuuuuuuu….
    and to be honest: Love was the culprit behind this post…

  6. Shankar says:

    Hi Rs… first time visiting your blog… very nice post… and similar to my post… we conveyed something similar… But the way of expresing differs..
    But in this post you have delt love in a very matured way..while mine is a very kiddish thought which I had in my school days…And thanks a lot for blogroll… Why dont you put a followers widget..so that i can follow you too…..

    And one suggestion. In this template the post area is very narrow…And put the blog archives above the "BLOGS I READ" column.. because when someone enters the blog..they will watch out for archives and may like to read other post too… And If you can change the template too.. Just a suggestion from my side… And very sry if i had bothered you with my suggestions.. And I think you are regulary blogging from august month it seems.. continue that..keep up the good work..cheers dude…happy blogging…

  7. R S says:

    thank you very much Shanker
    I have sent you a message about the suggestions thingy

  8. Rohini Prasanth says:

    Hello Rahul.

    Would you mind if I tell you I wanted to read the story before I read the rest of the post. 🙂 It was interesting. fiction out of your mind or someplace else? Just curious.

    I am sorry it took me so long to come to your blog. 🙂 Nice style you've got.. will be back to read more.

  9. R S V says:

    the fiction was from my mind but as they say beginners tend to repeat what has already been invented or discovered..its part of their learning process……

    thanks for visiting my blog

    and yes I am all against plagiarism…

  10. Rohini Prasanth says:

    Hey .. mine was just an innocent question. I never thought of plagiarism. quite bizarre of you to say so actually.

    All I meant was, did you think up the story on your own or is it part of come folklore or spoken word.. or something like that.

  11. R S V says:

    @Rohini
    I realize my mistake..Perhaps I felt too insecure(being inexperienced) at that time…
    apologies….

  12. Rohini Prasanth says:

    🙂 NO problem rahul 🙂 It is quite plausible that you misunderstood my question. The written word is open to misinterpretation sometimes.

    I am glad we clarified it. Now forget it.

  13. Rohini Prasanth says:

    PS- thanks for posting the link.. I would have come back to check on your reply anyways. It bugs me when I am misunderstood :D, esp if the guy is a blogger like you 🙂

Leave a Reply

